Red Screes, Fairfield and a Grisedale Tarn Wild Camp

I have long had my eye on a traverse along the length of the Helvellyn Range, with a wild camp somewhere high along the way. Rather ambitiously, I decided to have a stab at this a few days after a heavy fall of snow, whilst recovering from a stomach upset. To make life more difficult for myself, I decided to include Red Screes in my itinerary – needless to say, things didn’t quite go according to plan….https://wildaboutwalking.wordpress.com/lake-district/red-screes-fairfield-and-a-grisedale-tarn-wild-camp/

7 thoughts on “Red Screes, Fairfield and a Grisedale Tarn Wild Camp

  1. Great description Richard. I think we are similar ages and I too sometimes wonder if it’s getting too much, especially as I’ve been full of cold and Covid the last months. We need to dismiss those thoughts, keep a positive mental attitude and just keep walking! Great re living the tops you went over. I was on Dove Crag in the snow in March a couple of years ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Some wonderfully moody shots. I’ve had some very surreal dreams wild camping – the mind plays tricks. We are meant to be in a cave at night, round a fire, with our tribe. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment